Marketing (groan)

The Noob Guide to Online Marketing - Infographic

I admit it, I’m fairly new at marketing and probably not very good right now.  My experience involves one whole semester of BUS321-Principles of Marketing and reading Guerrilla Marketing for Writers (which was the more helpful of the two). Occasionally, I read an article on the subject, and I do put a lot of thought about how to stretch my marketing budget of $0 a bit farther. Yet, despite my vast ignorance, I really admire good marketing.

So here’s the one nugget I do know… Marketing in it’s simplest terms is just sharing excitement for something.

Case in point: I was pretty active in promoting my latest novel, Runaway, until I found a few errors in the manuscript. Suddenly my excitement in telling everyone and anyone about my first published novel nose-dived.  I took a “pause” in all promotion while going through it again.  I’m just about ready to turn in the update, and with that I know I need to restart my marketing efforts. Only, I’m just not really that inspired. Marketing has been on my mind, but more like changing my oil, mowing the grass, and switching out the filter on my heat pump. Somehow I can’t say the word without groaning.

So imagine my joy this morning to get my daily email from Cool Infographics profiling a six month plan for online marketing success! Just seeing the title got me excited again. It shows 50 tasks spread over eight different disciplines with a timeline for each.  Plus, it shows the projected impact each task will do. Best of all it’s in a visual format, which is perfect for me. This was just what I needed and I’m going to be studying this bad boy fairly closely in the coming weeks.

I’m so excited, I want to share it with you!  Wow, I guess I am marketing after all…

EDC

About EDC

EDC is an award-winning author with a passion for telling imaginative stories resonating with universal truths. His latest novel, Runaway, is a futuristic action/adventure inspired by the book of Philemon. EDC was born in Georgia, growing up in the suburbs of Atlanta, where he now lives with his wife, Amy, and daughter, Emma. Besides writing and being employed as an analyst in the airline industry, he has worked as a volunteer with youth, church planting, and Compassion International. He enjoys landscape gardening, listening to alternative rock, and playing the swordfight game on Wii Sports Resort.
This entry was posted in Blogs and the Web, News and Info, Opinion, Publishing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marketing (groan)

  1. Nice! Thanks for the link!

  2. thanks Ted for the link. I came across another book called Pyromarketing by Greg Steilstra. He talks about strategies used by Rick Warren for his book–The Purpose Driven Church. Great book and you can download the audio version for free at his website:
    http://www.pyromarketing.com/

Leave a Reply

